About us

Mayo Centre for the Unemployed was founded in 1986 by a committee, formed under the auspices of the Trades Councils of Ballina and Castlebar, in response to high unemployment rates in Mayo.

We sponsor a Community Employment Scheme that is funded by the DSP Employment Services. This scheme allows for the day to day staffing of our centres in Ballina and Castlebar and the secretarial and office services that are provided to the community. The scheme has employed an average of 20 to 30 local people per year. In addition to the practical skills the participants gain in running the centre and its secretarial service, each participant receives customised training each year.

The centre offers a drop in service to the public with specific focus on the unemployed. Information is provided on job seeking skills such as CV preparation and interview techniques and a notice board of current job vacancies is updated daily. People can also access information on social welfare entitlements and discuss their concerns privately and confidentially with our Information Officer. They can also receive basic computer training.

We also provide a wide range of services to the general public including photocopying, scanning, binding, laminating, typing, dictation, fax services and more in our offices in Ballina and Castlebar.


Contact Information

Tucker Street, Castlebar • Tel: 094 9027684 • Email: cfucastlebar@eircom.net

Teeling Street, Ballina • Tel: 096 70885 • Email: cfuballina@eircom.net

Board of Management

Eddie Lavelle (Chairman), Trevor Ardill (Treasurer), Cathy Blake (Secretary)
Mary Clarke, Matt Farrell, Joe Hennigan, Sean Moran (Board Members)